How far is too far?

Speaking of limits. Every now and then I pause and wonder if I should.

I’m writing down my thoughts, thinking on my next blog, working on a story maybe. And I wonder, if should bring up a certain point; say something that may give too much away. Not of the story, but of myself.

The story is inside of me just as much as I am inside of it. I’m the vessel that it is carried in, the source it will come flowing out of. I need never reveal how much of me is inside of it. That is my prerogative as the writer. Someone close to me might guess, the stranger on the street can only assume and will likely get it wrong.

As a seasoned reader I for one can’t say that I want to know anything about the writer when I am reading their book. I want to know the story. I want to know what is possible and apparently: anything.

I am therefore not even allowed to hold back. I might miss out on something incredible. Who would know? I have to give it a try, don’t I?

Some things are best learned by actually doing them, writing is one of them. I’m going to have to try anything and everything that jumps at me. There’s no deflecting, no hiding, no running away. I’m just going to have to take it and see what I can make of it.

As a writer I can never get to a point where I ask myself, if I’ve gone too far. Chances are I haven’t gone far enough.

That goes for me as a traveller as well. I most certainly haven’t gone far enough. There’s much farther to go.

This may be a little different in my blog, however. This is just me being random. Randomly enthusiastic, intrigued, curious, inspired, moved or baffled. It’s my writing exercise just so I move my fingers as much as my thoughts.

It means I can share as I wish and for all intents and purposes lie. I don’t but I could, because you’d be none the wiser. Believe me.

Ha! Or don’t.

Stuff found online should be taken with more than a pinch of salt, maybe a good cup at least.

Anyway, anyone who knows me will recognize me here. Everyone who doesn’t may get to know a random stranger just a little bit and find that they are not as alone in their thoughts as they thought they were.

You’re welcome. You are not alone. None of us is, even sitting in our little bubbles. Somehow we are connected. At the very least through the screen and these words I am writing and you are reading.

And this is why life makes me smile.

About 2clouds

I am many things, most of them I am 100%, some of them 150%, none of them just half. I write, I read, I dream, I travel. I question. And I'm always looking for answers. No dream is impossible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How far is too far?

  1. Diana says:

    One of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite books, Hagakure – The Way of the Samurai:

    “A thing done with moderation may later be judged to be insufficient. I have heard that when one thinks he has gone too far, he will not have erred.” – Yamamoto Tsunetomo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.