Making a life

Maya Angelou

It shouldn’t need Maya Angelou to remind ourselves of the things that matter above all.

Yet, memory is such a fickle thing. And life often gets in the way of living. Which means reminders are necessary.

I am making a living and have done for the past two years. There were moments of actual living my life in there as well. Whenever I got to do the things I loved to do and wanted to do.

Making a living is more or less required, but it doesn’t necessarily result in a happy life. Often the opposite is more likely.

How many of us get to do what we love? And if not that, do you at least get the chance to love what you do?

I’m less than seven weeks away from making, once more, the life I love above all. I will give up my day job in order to do so.

It’s a plunge most people are not willing to take. But for me it’s not the first time and I’ll be surprised if it will be the last time, though I do hope that to be the case.

I mustn’t dream small.

My life is tiny and insignificant. It is also entirely unique and it is all I have. I should at least give it a really good try to make it the best I can.

That includes (though is not reduced to) spending worthwhile time with my family and friends, following my heart and working on making my dreams come true, write the stories that only I can tell, travel this world in its length and width and tell about that as well.

It is not my aim to be remembered. Eventually time forgets everyone. I do want to try to leave the world better than I found it. So it’s not just a selfish desire to live happily ever after on my own terms, but giving this life of mine some purpose and meaning that goes beyond the boundaries it is made up of.

I also believe that part of making a life for myself, includes enabling others to do so as well.

My choices are unlikely to suit many people, but they may inspire others to see what is possible.

In my book that is everything.

About 2clouds

I am many things, most of them I am 100%, some of them 150%, none of them just half. I write, I read, I dream, I travel. I question. And I'm always looking for answers. No dream is impossible.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts and opinions, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

