Morning Rush

Yesterday was busy. Thursdays are somehow always the busiest day of the week. The tube is slammed, the buses even more so, people are in your way or trampling all over you, possibly even both.

It does not serve my mood once I have arrived at work.

Today, Friday, was different. The bus arrived and was not packed with people like a can of sardines. The tube was empty enough for everyone to find a seat still when I got on at my stop. Once I emerged from the tube at King’s Cross, I could see that the sky was not its usual grey either. The clouds were glowing.

There was hope.

Only when I was fully outside, I saw that it was raining, though it was the kind of rain that comes down straight without any fuss and not the kind that comes at you horizontally.

As a fully trained Londoner I, of course, always carry an umbrella.

Walking to the next bus stop, unhurriedly and unimpaired by anyone, I noticed someone taking a photo of something above the station. I looked. I saw this:

Image

As I took the photo, I mumbled to myself that this is the reason I should always carry my camera with me. The phone camera just doesn’t do it any justice. Oh well, you get the gist.

The sky was brightened by a full on rainbow, which just about made my day. By saying this I hope I’m not jinxing myself, but that’s a risk I have to take.

What am I reminded of once more?

Take a moment and appreciate the beauty that you find around you even during morning rush. People don’t usually stop for anything on their way to work unless forced. That’s somewhat ironic considering that most people much rather take a photograph of a rainbow than sit in an office for the next eight hours.

Well, go ahead, take the photo, appreciate a small miracle that mother nature just threw out for you for a few precious moments and then take that glimmer of colour with you to work smiling.

That’s what I did.

About 2clouds

I am many things, most of them I am 100%, some of them 150%, none of them just half. I write, I read, I dream, I travel. I question. And I'm always looking for answers. No dream is impossible.
This entry was posted in Random thoughts and opinions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

